The House Minority Leader - Representative Jim Ward - is the leader of the House Democratic Caucus. He is responsible for negotiating with the majority party on legislative issues, appointing Democratic members to committees, maintaining a staff to assist other members of the caucus, and assisting House Democrats both on and off the floor.

In addition to a Minority Leader, an Assistant Minority Leader, Minority Whip, Caucus Chair, Agenda Chair, and Policy Chair are also elected by the caucus. Together, these individuals comprise the leadership team of Kansas House Democrats. Leadership plays an important role in caucus activities. They coordinate caucus activities and are instrumental in organizing the priorities of House Democrats throughout the year.

The 2015-2016 House Democratic Leadership Team is as follows:

  • House Minority Leader: Jim Ward, Wichita 
  • Assistant House Minority Leader: Stan Frownfelter, Kansas City
  • Minority Whip: Ed Trimmer, Winfield
  • Caucus Chair: Barbara Ballard, Lawrence
  • Agenda Chair: Brandon Whipple, Wichita
  • Policy Chair: Adam Lusker, Frontenac