TOPEKA - House Minority Leader Paul Davis, Lawrence, announced today the appointment of House Democrats to 2009 legislative interim committees.  These committees will study specific issues throughout the fall and make recommendations to the 2010 Legislature.

"The next legislative session will present many challenges," said Davis.  "These members offer unique experience from their personal and professional backgrounds that will help generate innovative solutions in 2010."

2009 House Democratic Interim Appointments:
Special Committee on KTEC - Doug Gatewood, Columbus; Jerry Williams, Chanute; Lisa Benlon, Overland Park

Special Committee on Judiciary - Sydney Carlin, Manhattan; Annie Tietze, Topeka

Special Committee on Transportation - Margaret Long, Kansas City; Julie Menghini, Pittsburg; Paul Davis, Lawrence; Shirley Palmer, Fort Scott

Special Committee on Utilities - Annie Kuether, Topeka; Cindy Neighbor, Shawnee

Joint Committee on Energy and Environmental Policy - Vince Wetta, Wellington

Additionally, Rep. Steve Lukert, Sabetha, has been named as the ranking Democrat on the House Committee on Agriculture and Natural Resources.  Lukert replaces outgoing ranking member Rep. Joshua Svaty, Ellsworth, who resigned when he was named Secretary-designate to the Kansas Department of Agriculture.

# # #