TOPEKA -- Kansas House Minority Leader Paul Davis, Lawrence, announced the appointment today of the following House Democrats to the House Committee on Redistricting:

o   Paul Davis, Lawrence (Ranking Democrat)

o   Bob Grant, Cherokee

o   Annie Kuether, Topkea

o   Jan Pauls, Hutchinson

o   Mike Peterson, Kansas City

o   Jim Ward, Wichita

“The members I appointed have a broad range of institutional knowledge that is necessary for something as important as the redistricting process,” said Davis. “I know they will work tirelessly to ensure this process is fair to all Kansans.”

The House Committee on Redistricting convenes every ten years and is charged with the task of redrawing district lines for Congressional, State House, State Senate districts and School Boards. The Committee utilizes the previous year’s census data to make their recommendations. Each map will be presented in the form of legislation and must pass each chamber and receive the signature of the Governor in order to be implemented.

According to the 2010 census, each Congressional district must be redrawn to include 713,280 constituents.  The necessary numbers in House and Senate are still being determined by the Secretary of State’s office and will be announced at a later date.


# # #